Introduction

NOUAKCHOTT DECLARATION ON TRANSPARENCY AND SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT IN AFRICA

WE, the Participants at the International High Level Conference on the theme “TRANSPARENCY and SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT IN AFRICA” met in Nouakchott, Mauritania from 19 to 20 January, 2015, on the invitation of His Excellency Mohamed OULD ABDEL AZIZ, President of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, and current Chairperson of the African Union, with the support of the African Development Bank, the European Union, Deutsche Gesellschaftfür Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, Transparency International (TI), the United Nations Programme for Development, and the World Bank; drawn from the Public Sector, the Private Sector and Civil Society, and in the Presence of the Head of State of Mauritania, representatives from several Governments, and High Representatives of International and Regional Organizations;

REITERATE that Africa has a wealth of natural resources, including oil and gas, minerals, and also marine resources. With good governance at all levels, these natural resources can transform the lives of millions of African citizens in present and future generations. With good governance, natural resources can enable our States to create jobs, boost economic growth, reduce poverty and inequality, increase social integration and nurture sustainable development;

MINDFUL of improving governance throughout Africa, note the urgent and continued need to accelerate progress against corruption, money laundering, tax evasion and all other forms of illicit financial flows, through long-term comprehensive strategic approaches;

RECALL the existing framework of Global, Regional and Sub-Regional initiatives to fight corruption, tackle tax evasion, prevent illicit financial flows, and promote transparency and accountability in the extractive industries, including most notably:

  • The African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption;
  • The United Nations Convention Against Corruption (UNCAC);
  • Protocols and Conventions instituted within the various Regional Economic Communities of Africa;
  • The Organization for Economic Development and Cooperation (OECD) Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions;
  • The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) Recommendations;
  • The African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) and the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD);
  • African Charter on Values and Principles of Public Service and Administration and more especially Chapter Three on the Code of Conduct for Public Service Agents;
  • The Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI);
  • The Africa Mining Vision conceived by the African Union to ensure transparent, equitable and optimal exploitation of mineral resources to underpin broad-based sustainable growth and socio-economic development;
  • The Stolen Asset Recovery Initiative (STAR);      
  • The Construction Sector Transparency Initiative (CoST);
  • International efforts led by the OECD to limit Base Erosion and Profit shifting (BEPS) by preventing tax treaty abuse, tax avoidance and transfer-pricing;
  • The international standards on transparency and exchange of information monitored by the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes;
  • The Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters;
  • The African Tax Administration Forum;
  • The Principles of the BUSAN Partnership for Effective Development Cooperation;
  • The African Union’s 2050 Africa Integrated Maritime (AIM) Strategy;
  • The 2009 Port State Measures Agreement of the UN Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO);
  • Africa Vision 2063;
  • And the Millennium Goals and post-2015 Development Agenda.

EXPRESSING our gratitude to His Excellency Mohamed OULD ABDEL AZIZ, President of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, and current Chairperson of the African Union, to the Government and people of Mauritania for their warm welcome and generous hospitality as well as the excellent organization of this High Level Conference;

CALL ON OTHERS TO SUPPORT AND TO MATCH COMMITMENT FROM, THE GOVERNMENT OF MAURITANIA, AS CURRENT CHAIR OF THE AFRICAN UNION:

  1. To encourage the effective and transparent management of public resources by strong and well-functioning institutions, a professional and effective civil service, as well as sound budgetary and public procurement policies and the use of new technologies and instruments for the publication and analysis of fiscal data;
  2. To promote and strengthen cooperation and dialogue between Governments, Civil Society and the Private Sector, in order to build the political consensus and understanding that will be necessary to prevent and suppress corruption, money-laundering, tax evasion and illicit financial flows;
  3. To align national legal frameworks with both the UNCAC and the AU convention against corruption, to promote common definitions of corruption offenses, to stress the central role of law enforcement bodies, judicial institutions and other formal institutions of accountability in the fight against corruption, and to guarantee the rule of law, including protection of the judiciary’s independence;
  4. To call upon the African Union at its forthcoming January Summit to support presentation of the Report of the High Level Panel on Illicit Financial Flows from Africa, and to establish an African institution or structure to coordinate the development of strategies amongst African Union countries to curb tax evasion and illicit financial flows, implementing the recommendations of the High Level Panel based on national risk assessments;
  5. To urge relevant international organizations and destination countries for illicit financial flows to view the issue of illicit financial flows as a global issue requiring comprehensive and concerted action by both countries of origin and countries of destination, to improve international cooperation by intensifying the implementation of existing standards against money laundering, in particular measures to improve customer due diligence, to ensure public availability of beneficial ownership information, to exchange information for tax purposes, and to demand financial and technical support from destination countries to tackle illicit flows;
  6. To call upon all member countries of the African Union to join the international efforts to strengthen tax transparency and exchange of information in order to prevent and detect international tax evasion, in particular by actively participating in the Africa Initiative of the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes;
  7. To re-double efforts to prevent transfers of assets coming from theft, embezzlement or any other corruption-related crime, and to recover stolen assets, in order to preserve the credibility of our anti-corruption efforts and to promote sustainable economic development.  In this regard, countries should strengthen international cooperation by accepting the AU convention and UNCAC as sufficient legal basis for mutual legal assistance, and consider joining relevant networks of practitioners to facilitate collaboration and build trust;
  8. To further reaffirm support for efforts by member countries of the African Union to recover and return stolen assets, to deny safe haven to the proceeds of corruption, to implement the major regional and international anti-corruption conventions of their international asset-recovery commitments, and to initiate domestic proceedings against corrupt officials including the recovery of stolen assets;
  9. To promote transparency across different economic sectors, especially those that relate to natural resources such as minerals and fisheries, supporting the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI), and establishing a similar initiative for the fishing industry too;
  10. To welcome the announcement by His Excellency Mohamed OULD ABDEL AZIZ, President of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, and current Chairperson of the African Union, to launch a Fishing Industry Transparency Initiative (FITI) and to implement the initiative;
  11. To call upon the international community and multilateral system to introduce a global registry of fishing vessels based on the ready-made institutional framework of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO), to tackle the misuse of “flags of convenience”, and to end fishing subsidies which contribute to illegal, unreported, and unregulated (IUU) fishing;
  12. To make fishing permits and related procurement processes fully transparent, to ratify and implement the 2009 Port State Measures Agreement (PSMA), and to rigorously enforce sanctions on vessels engaged in IUU fishing;
  13. To call upon the member countries of the African Union to  extend sufficient protection to whistleblowers in the public and private sectors, who play a key role in the prevention and detection of corruption, thus defending the public interest, and to consider such measures as necessary elements of an effective anti-corruption strategy;
  14. To uphold freedom of, and access to, information, a principle which is vital to foster openness and accountability in public policy and procurement, and to enable Civil Society, including the media, to help prevent and combat corruption and its predicate offences; and
  15. To advocate for governments to be more transparent and to develop processes and institutions that address citizen concerns and provide timely information and reliable statistics in order to promote transparency and sustainable development.

Done At Nouakchott, this Twentieth Day of January, 2015

Share on Facebook

Présentation

DÉCLARATION DE NOUAKCHOTT SUR LA TRANSPARENCE ET LE DÉVELOPPEMENT DURABLE EN AFRIQUE

NOUS, Participants à la Conférence internationale de haut niveau sur le thème « TRANSPARENCE et DEVELOPPEMENT DURABLE EN AFRIQUE » nous sommes réunis à Nouakchott, Mauritanie les 19 et 20 janvier 2015, à l'invitation de Son Excellence Mohamed OULD ABDEL AZIZ, Président de la République Islamique de Mauritanie, et Président en exercice de l'Union africaine, avec le soutien de la Banque africaine de développement, l'Union européenne, Deutsche Gesellschaftfür Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, Transparency International (TI), le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement, et la Banque mondiale ; provenant du secteur public, du secteur privé et de la société civile, et en présence du chef d'État de Mauritanie, de représentants de plusieurs gouvernements, et de hauts représentants des organisations internationales et régionales ;

RAPPELONS que l'Afrique est dotée d'une richesse de ressources naturelles, dont le pétrole et le gaz, les mines ainsi que les ressources marines. Avec une bonne gouvernance à tous les niveaux, ces ressources naturelles peuvent transformer les vies de millions de citoyens africains des générations actuelles et futures. Avec une bonne gouvernance, les ressources naturelles peuvent permettre à nos Etats de créer des emplois, dynamiser la croissance économique, réduire la pauvreté et les inégalités, accroître l'intégration sociale et favoriser le développement durable ;

SOUCIEUX de l'amélioration de la gouvernance en Afrique, notons la nécessité urgente et permanente d'accélérer les progrès dans la lutte contre la corruption, le blanchiment d'argent, l'évasion fiscale et toutes les autres formes de flux financiers illicites, à travers des approches globales et stratégiques à long terme ;

RAPPELONS le cadre existant des initiatives globales, régionales et sous-régionales pour lutter contre la corruption, faire face à l'évasion fiscale, prévenir les flux financiers illicites et promouvoir la transparence et la redevabilité dans les industries extractives, y compris notamment :

  • La Convention de l'Union africaine sur la prévention et la lutte contre la corruption ;
  • La Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption (CNUCC) ;
  • Les Protocoles et Conventions institués au sein des différentes Communautés économiques régionales en Afrique ;
  • La Convention de l'Organisation pour la coopération et le développement économique (OCDE) sur la lutte contre la corruption d'agents publics étrangers dans les transactions commerciales internationales ;
  • Les recommandations du Groupe d'action financière (GAFI) ;
  • Le Mécanisme africain d'évaluation par les pairs (MAEP) et le Nouveau partenariat pour le développement de l'Afrique (NEPAD) ;
  • La Charte africaine sur les valeurs et principes du service public et de l'administration et plus particulièrement le chapitre trois sur le Code de conduite pour les agents de la fonction publique ;  
  • L'Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives (ITIE) ;
  • La Vision minière pour l'Afrique conçue par l'Union africaine pour assurer une exploitation transparente, équitable et optimale des ressources minières afin d'appuyer une croissance durable et un développement socio-économique ;
  • L'Initiative sur le recouvrement des avoirs volés (StAR) ;
  • L'Initiative pour la transparence dans le secteur de construction (CoST) ;
  • Les efforts internationaux menés par l'OCDE pour limiter l'Érosion de la base d'imposition et le Transfert des bénéfices (BEPS) en prévenant les abus de conventions fiscales, l'évasion fiscale et les prix de transfert ;
  • Les standards internationaux sur la transparence et l'échange d'informations suivis par le Forum global sur la transparence et l'échange d'informations à des fins fiscales ;
  • La Convention concernant l'assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale ;
  • Le Forum africain sur l'administration fiscale ;
  • Les Principes du partenariat BUSAN pour une coopération efficace en matière de développement ;
  • La Stratégie africaine intégrée pour les mers et les océans- horizon 2050 (AIM) ;
  • L'Accord sur les mesures du ressort de l'Etat du port de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (FAO) de 2009 ;
  • L'Agenda 2063 de l'Union africaine ;
  • Et les Objectifs du millénaire et le Programme de développement de l'après 2015.

EXPRIMONS notre gratitude à Son Excellence Mohamed OULD ABDEL AZIZ, Président de la République Islamique de Mauritanie et Président en exercice de l'Union africaine, au gouvernement et au peuple de Mauritanie pour leur accueil chaleureux et leur généreuse hospitalité ainsi que l'excellente organisation de cette Conférence de haut niveau ;

APPELONS LES AUTRES A SOUTENIR ET A SUIVRE L'ENGAGEMENT DU GOUVERNEMENT DE LA MAURITANIE, QUI ASSURE ACTUELLEMENT LA PRESIDENCE DE L'UNION AFRICAINE :

  1. A encourager la gestion efficace et transparente des ressources publiques par des institutions fortes et fonctionnelles, une fonction publique professionnelle et efficace, ainsi que des politiques saines de gestion budgétaire et de passation de marchés et l'utilisation des nouvelles technologies et des instruments pour la publication et l'analyse des données fiscales;
  2. A promouvoir et renforcer la coopération et le dialogue entre les gouvernements, la société civile et le secteur privé, afin de construire le consensus politique et la compréhension qui sera nécessaire à prévenir et éradiquer la corruption, le blanchiment d'argent, et les flux financiers illicites.
  3. A mettre en cohérence les cadres juridiques nationaux à la fois avec la CNUCC et la convention de l'UA contre la corruption, à promouvoir les définitions communes des infractions de corruption, à mettre l'accent sur le rôle central des organismes chargés de l'application de la loi, des institutions judiciaires dans la lutte contre la corruption, et à garantir l'état de droit, y compris la protection de l'indépendance de la magistrature ;
  4. A appeler l'Union africaine lors de son prochain sommet qui aura lieu en janvier à appuyer la présentation du Rapport du panel de haut niveau sur les flux financiers illicites en provenance de l'Afrique, et à créer une institution ou une infrastructure africaine pour coordonner la définition des stratégies entre les pays membres de l'Union africaine pour lutter contre les flux financier illicites, en mettant en place les recommandations du Panel de haut niveau sur la base des évaluations de risque au niveau national ;
  5. A exhorter les organisations internationales pertinentes et les pays de destination des flux financiers illicites à revoir la problématique des flux financiers illicites en tant que problématique globale qui exige une action globale et concertée à la fois par les pays d'origine et les pays de destination, à améliorer la coopération internationale en intensifiant la mise en place de standards existants contre le blanchiment d'argent, en particulier des mesures pour améliorer la diligence raisonnable relative à la clientèle, à assurer la disponibilité publique des informations sur les ayants droit, à échanger les informations à des fins fiscales, et à exiger le soutien financier et technique des pays destinataires pour lutter contre les flux illicites ;
  6. A appeler tous les membres de l'Union africaine à se joindre aux efforts internationaux pour renforcer la transparence fiscale et l'échange d'informations afin de prévenir et détecter l'évasion fiscale internationale, particulièrement en participant activement à l'Initiative africaine du forum global sur la transparence et l'échange d'informations à des fins fiscales ;
  7.  A redoubler les efforts pour prévenir les transferts des avoirs provenant du vol, du détournement ou de tout autre crime lié à la corruption, et de récupérer les avoirs volés, afin de préserver la crédibilité de nos efforts de lutte contre la corruption et de promouvoir le développement économique durable. A cet égard, les pays doivent renforcer la coopération internationale en acceptant la Convention de l'UA et de la CNUCC comme une base juridique suffisante pour l'assistance juridique mutuelle, et envisager d'adhérer à des réseaux pertinents de praticiens pour faciliter la collaboration et bâtir la confiance ;
  8. A réaffirmer davantage le soutien pour les efforts des pays membres de l'Union africaine pour récupérer et restituer les avoirs volés, à refuser un havre de sécurité aux recettes de la corruption, à mettre en place les principales conventions régionales et internationales de lutte contre la corruption par leurs engagements internationaux de recouvrement des avoirs, et à initier les procédures internes contre les agents corrompus y compris le recouvrement des avoirs volés ;
  9. A promouvoir la transparence dans les différents secteurs économiques, surtout ceux qui ont trait aux ressources naturelles telles que les minerais et la pêche, soutenant l'Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives (ITIE), et créant une initiative similaire pour l'industrie de la pêche également ;
  10. A saluer l'annonce de Son Excellence Mohamed OULD ABDEL AZIZ, Président de la République Islamique de Mauritanie, et Président en exercice de l'Union africaine, à lancer l'Initiative pour la transparence dans le domaine de la pêche maritime et à mettre en place cette initiative ;
  11. A appeler la communauté internationale et le système multilatéral à introduire un registre mondial des navires de pêche sur la base du cadre institutionnel existant de l'Organisation maritime internationale (OMI), à lutter contre les abus des pavillons de complaisance, et à mettre fin aux subventions de pêche qui contribuent à la pêche illicite, non déclarée et non réglementée ;
  12. A rendre les permis de pêche et les processus de passation des marchés y afférents complètement transparents, à ratifier et mettre en place les mesures du ressort de l'Etat du port (AMEP) de 2009, et à renforcer avec rigueur les amendes aux navires qui pratiquent la pêche illicite, non déclarée et non réglementée ;
  13. A appeler les pays membres de l'Union africaine à étendre une protection suffisante aux dénonciateurs dans les secteurs publics et privés, qui jouent un rôle clé dans la prévention et la détection de la corruption, et qui en ce faisant défendent l'intérêt public, et à considérer ces mesures comme étant des éléments nécessaires d'une stratégie efficace de lutte contre la corruption ;
  14. A soutenir la liberté de, et l'accès à l’information, un principe qui est vital à la promotion de l'ouverture et la redevabilité dans la politique public et la passation des marchés, et à permettre à la société civile, y compris les médias, à aider à prévenir et lutter contre la corruption et ses infractions principales ; et
  15. A encourager les gouvernements à être plus transparents et à créer des processus et des institutions qui traitent des préoccupations des citoyens et fournissent des informations en temps opportun et des statistiques fiables afin de promouvoir la transparence et le développement durable. 

Fait à Nouakchott, le vingt janvier 2015 

 

 

 

Share on Facebook